Tarek Chaaban

Tarek Chaaban, M.Sc's official blog. It contains current web project portfolio, posts regarding his Canadian army experience, news, sports articles, and web tutorials on programming and using social networking technologies.

Africa Cup Nations Egypt 2006

Four teams met in Addis Ababa for the third edition: Ethiopia, the organising country, Egypt holder of the trophy, Tunisia and Uganda. Two semi-finals, one final and a third-place match were played. Ethiopia won the title after beating Egypt 4 – 2 in an exciting final. Emperor Haile Selassie handed the Cup to Captain Luciano Vassalo.

Ghana was officially designated to host the fourth edition in 1963. Eight countries were registered for this fourth edition. After the elimination round, Tunisia, Nigeria, Sudan and Egypt qualified and joined Ghana and Ethiopia for the final tournament.

In the final, Ghana beat Ethiopia 3-0 and won the Cup for the first time. In November 1965, the fifth edition of the Cup of Nations was held in Tunisia. And starting from the sixth edition, the tournament would be played with eight teams (six qualified plus holder of the title and the organising country).

For the 10th edition, it was decided to follow the example of the World Cup in 1974. A second round replaced the semi-finals and final.

The first and second teams of the two groups would meet in a round-robin group. The final winner is the team which collects the greater number of points.

In 1976, Morocco took advantage of this new formula and won the 10th edition of the Cup. However this new system was not convincing and was changed in 1978 when again semi- finals and final were played. The drawing of lots was also abandoned and penalty-kicks introduced, after extra time for the semi-finals and final.

On 25th September 1989, in Cairo, the Organizing CAF approved to change the formula of the final tournament : the number of finalists was increased from eight to twelve and this, starting from the 18th edition which was entrusted to Senegal in 1992.

Henceforth, the preliminaries would take place by group matches and not by direct elimination any more. Ten teams would qualify from the preliminaries to the final tournament, plus the organising country and the title holder. The final tournament would gather four groups of three teams each. The winners and the runner ups of each group would qualify for the quarter-finals. The winners would play in the semi-finals.

The 18th (Senegal 92) and the 19th (Tunisia 94) editions have materialized this first ANC expansion.

A second expansion of the final phase – from 12 to 16 took place starting from the 20th edition: the host country, the title holder plus fourteen qualified from the preliminaries. Four groups of four were formed after the draw. The first and the runner up of each group reaching the quarter-finals and the winners of this round qualify to the semi-finals. On the whole, 32 matches are played in the tournament. The final phase has thus stretched out to be played throughout three weeks and now require at least three sites for the competitions.

This formula is the one still used today with an important change introduced starting from the 2006 edition which is the combination of the preliminary round of the African Nations Cup with the qualifiers of the World Cup.

Pages: 1 2

Leave a Response

Please note: comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.